About us


The Präsidialausschuss is a committee of the Verwaltungsrat. The Präsidialausschuss prepares the metings of the Verwaltungsrat and monitors the execution of its decisions.

The chair and the deputy chair of the Verwaltungsrat act as chair and deputy chair of the Präsidialausschuss, respectively. The chair carries titel "President". In addition, the respresentatives of the federal German government and of the state government of Hesse in the Verwaltungsrat are members of the Präsidialausschuss. Up to three additional members can be elected by the Verwaltungsrat.


Prof. h. c. Wolfgang Strutz


Dr. h. c. Beate Heraeus (President)
Dr. Werner Brandt (ehemals Executive Board Member, Chief Financial Officer SAP AG)
Carsten Kratz
Bernd Loewen
Anja Steinhofer-Adam (Hesse Ministry of Science and Arts)
Dr. Angelika Willms-Herget (Federal German Ministry of Education and Research)