Senckenberg Research Institute and Natural History Museum Frankfurt

Palaeozoology III

The section was founded in 1966/67 under the name Palaeozoology IV as subunit of the Geological Department. Dr. Rolf Werner led this section from its onset until his death in 1994. Research was concentrated on stratigraphy and facies of the Lower and Middle Devonian of the Eifel Region in that time.
Since 1995, Dr. Ulrich Jansen has been the head of the section. In 1996 the Senckenberg Director  Prof. Dr. F.F. Steininger introduced a new structure of the Geological Department, and the name of the section was changed into Palaeozoology III.

 Dr. Rolf Werner

Dr. R. Werner
Head of the former Section Palaeozoology IV, 1966-1994