Prizes and Honours

Prizes & Honours 2011-2014

Der Senckenbergerin PD Dr. Mona Hoppenrath wurde am 11.08.2015 der „Prescott Award“ verliehen. Während der Jahrestagung der „Phycological Society of America“ nahm die Meeresforscherin von Senckenberg am Meer und Erstautorin des durch den Prescott Award ausgezeichneten Buches „Marine benthic dinoflagellates – unveiling their worldwide biodiversity“ den Preis stellvertretend für das Autorenteam entgegen. [mehr Informationen]

Dr. Mona Hoppenrath

The research group „Molecular taxonomy of marine organisms“ of the department German Center for Marine Biodiversity Research (DZMB) of Senckenberg am Meer was prized as official project of the UN-Dekade “Biologische Vielfalt”. This distinction is awarded to projects which support the preservation of biological diversity in a commendable way.

Dr. Michael Raupach und Prof. Pedro Martínez Arbizu

Jana Packmor: Awarded for best student oral communication presented at the 12th International Conference on Copepoda at Hanyang University, Korea, July 2014

PACKMOR, J., MÜLLER, F. & GEORGE, K. H.: Atlantic seamounts and Islands as staging posts for the dispersal of shallow-water Paramesochridae (Copepoda, Harpacticoida). 12th International Conference on Copepoda (14.-18.07.2014) Hanyang University, Seoul, Korea
Jana Packmor

Rony Huys & Jana Packmor

The junior research group „Molecular taxonomy of marine organisms“ was awarded as “Selected Location 2012” as part of the National Initiative “Germany – Country of Ideas”.
The initiative under patronage of the Federal President of Germany and the Deutsche Bank awards 365 outstanding projects and ideas of the sustainability of Germany yearly. As winner of this contest in 2012, the working group will act as an ambassador of the “Country of Ideas”, representing the innovation potential of Germany.

Deutschland – Land der Ideen
Dr. Lena Menzel will be honoured at the 24.2.2012 with the Bernhard-Rensch-Preis der GfBS 2012 for her outstanding PhD Thesis.
Lena Menzel 2011: Argestidae Por, 1986 (Copepoda, Harpacticoida) in the deep sea – systematics and geographical distribution. Universität Oldenburg
The Bernhard Rensch Prize is being awarded by the Society of Biological Systematics (GfBS, Germany) to Dr. Lena Menzel who has demonstrated exceptional work in biological systematics. The award was launched by the GfBS according to a suggestion by the late Prof. Dr. Ernst Mayr, an honorary member of the GfBS.

Dr. Lena Menzel
Dr. Gritta Veit-Köhler will recieve the Hanns Christian Schroeder-Hohenwarth Preis 2011 of the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturkunde at the 6.2.2012 for the best populary scientific publication in the journal Natur-Forschung-Museum for her article:
Gritta Veit-Köhler, Jutta Kuhnert and Nils Volkenborn 2010: Der Ingenieur im Watt und die Meiofauna. Natur und Museum 140 (5/6): 120-125.

Preisverleihung- Dr. Gritta Veit-Köhler
Dr. Alexander Kieneke was awarded the Reinhard Rieger-Award in Zoomorhology 2011 for his publication:
Birgen H. Rothe, Andreas Schmidt-Rhaesa und Alexander Kieneke 2011: The nervous system of Neodasys chaetonotoideus (Gastrotricha: Neodasys) revealed by combined confocal laserscanning and transmission electron microscopy: evolutionary comparison of neuroanatomy within the Gastrotricha and basal Protostomia. Zoomorphology 130: 51–84.

Dr. Alexander Kieneke
Inga Mohrbeck was selected best early stage researcher at the World Conference on Marine Biodiversity in Aberdeen 2011 and awarded with the Royal Society Publishing Award for her digital object presentation (film).
Inga Mohrbeck, Pedro Martínez Arbizu, Michael Raupach und Silke Laakmann 2011: DNA barcoding of the North Sea zooplankton: Biodiversity assessment by molecular taxonomic interpretation.

Inga Mohrbeck
Dr. Terue Cristina Kihara was selected for the category “Image of Distinction” Nikon Small World Photomicrography Competition 2011 for her confocal laser-scanning microscope image of a parasitic copepod (Clausidium) she took at the DZMB, Senckenberg am Meer.