Bodies and Committees


The Verwaltungsrat monitors and advises the Board of Directors, which conducts the business of the Senckenberg Society for Nature Research, with regard to the expediency and cost-effectiveness of its activities (Statutes of the Senckenberg Society for Nature Research, § 9).
The Verwaltungsrat consists of elected members, office members and two other members. The election members are elected among the members of the Senckenberg Society for Nature Research by the Meeting of Members for a term of four years. Official members are representatives of the ministries responsible in the seven states that Senckenberg has a site in. The other two members are delegated to the Verwaltungsrat by the Dr. Senckenbergische Stiftung and the City of Frankfurt. The Verwaltungsrat elects the Chairperson, who bears the title “Director of the Senckenberg Society for Nature Research” and forms a working committee (Presidential Committee) among its members.

Composition of the Verwaltungsrat

(May, 2020)

Elected Members

  • *Heraeus, Dr. h.c. Beate (President of the Verwaltungsrat/President of the Senckenberg Society for Nature Research)
  • *Kratz, Carsten (Senior Partner and Head of Bridgepoint GmbH) (Vice President of the Verwaltungsrat)
  • Alfes, Dr. Holger (LL. M. Lawyer, Partner Noerr LLP)
  • *Brandt, Dr. Werner (Supervisory Board Chairman RWE AG)
  • Kretschmer, Michael (Prime Minister of the FreeState of Saxony)
  • *Loewen, Bernd (Board member of KfW Bankengruppe, Frankfurt)
  • Müller, Emmerich (Partner B. Metzler seel. Sohn & Co. Holding AG)
  • Quandt, Kathrin
  • Riesenhuber, Prof. Dr. Heinz (Former member of the German Bundestag)
  • Schmid, Dietmar (BHF-Bank-Stiftung)
  • Wolff, Prof. Dr. Birgitta (President of Goethe-University Frankfurt)

Assigned Members

  • *Steinhofer-Adam, Anja (Hesse Ministry of Science and Arts)
  • Gläser, Dr. Babett (Saxon State Ministry for Science and the Arts)
  • *Helbig, Dr. Gisela (Federal Ministry of Education and Research)
  • Kuntze, Veronica (Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts)

Nachrichtliche Members1

  • N.N. (Ministry ofScience, Research and Culture of Brandenburg)
  • Keser, Marco (Hamburg Ministry of Science, Research and Equalities)
  • N.N. (Ministry for Science and Culture of Lower Saxony)
  • Podßuweit, Jana (Thüringer Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Digitale Gesellschaft)

Other Members

  • Schopow, Dr. med. Kosta (Chairman of the Administration der Dr. Senckenbergischen Stiftung)
  • Hartwig, Dr. Ina (Department Head for Culture and Science, Frankfurt am Main)

 Regular Guests

  • Sommer, Prof. Dr. Simone (Chairwoman of the scientifical advisory board, Institute of Evolutionary Ecology and Conservation Genomics of Universität Ulm) 
  • Strutz, Prof. h.c. Wolfgang (Honorary President of SGN)

 Direktorium of SGN

  • Mosbrugger, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Volker (Direktor General, Head of the Board of Directors)
  • Mulch, Prof. Dr. Andreas (Deputy Director General)
  • Schwedhelm, Stephanie (Administrative Director)
  • Böhning-Gaese, Prof. Dr. Katrin
  • Wesche, Prof. Dr. Karsten


The persons marked with * are members of the Executive Committee.


  1. mandate rotates every 2 years between Brandenburg, Hamburg, Thüringen, Niedersachsen